skip to primary navigationskip to content

LECF 2018 Cambridge host institutions

Host institutions for the internal matching funding competition

Applications are accepted from the ‘ranking units’ listed below. This list is based on the University’s departmental/faculty structure, and reflects the way in which the Leverhulme Trust is prepared to set up their awards. However, please note:

  • Applicants based in cross-School Centres or Institutes (marked**) in which any grant associated with them would be held, should apply through that Centre or Institute, rather than through the University department with which their academic host is associated. Each applicant may make only one application.
  • Applicants from other bodies (e.g. the Fitzwilliam Museum) should apply to the most appropriate ranking unit from the list below.

School of Arts and Humanities

Architecture and History of Art

Asian and Middle Eastern Studies




Modern and Medieval Languages



**Centre for Research in Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (CRASSH)

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Archaeology & Social Anthropology & Biological Anthropology




History & Philosophy of Science

Land Economy

Law (including Institute of Criminology)

POLIS (including the Centres for African Studies, Development Studies, Latin American Studies, South Asian Studies and the University of Cambridge Centre for Gender Studies)


School of Clinical Medicine

NB applicants from clinical departments should ensure that their project falls within the classification of ‘basic science’:  the Leverhulme Trust will not award fellowships in clinical/medical research.

Clinical Biochemistry

Clinical Neurosciences 


Medical Genetics


Obstetrics & Gynaecology




Public Health & Primary Care



**Cambridge Institute for Medical Research (CIMR)

School of Biological Sciences





Physiology, Development and Neuroscience

Plant Sciences



Veterinary Medicine

**Wellcome Trust Centre for Stem Cell Research

**Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute

**Cambridge Systems Biology Centre (CSBC)

**Sainsbury Laboratory

School of Physical Sciences

Earth Sciences

Geography (including Scott Polar RI)

Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics

Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics



Materials Science and Metallurgy


School of Technology

Department of Engineering

Department of Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology

Judge Business School

Computer Laboratory

If you are in doubt about the unit to which an applicant belongs, please contact the Director.

New office address

We have moved to the University's North West Cambridge Development and are delighted to be sharing office space with the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs at 105 Eddington Place, Cambridge CB3 1AS.  Our telephone numbers and other contact information have not changed.  

How to find us

Forthcoming closing dates

Leverhulme Early Career Fellowships 2018 - internal competition is now OPEN. Internal deadline = 15 January 2018; national deadline = 01 March 2018

INT/Schools of Physical Sciences & Technology (start-up grants for new University Lecturers): now OPEN - closing date 30 November 2017

INT/Wellcome Trust ISSF/Schools of Biological Sciences and Clinical Medicine (start-up grants for new University Lecturers and PIs) now OPEN - closing date 04 December 2017

Cambridge Humanities Research Grants (CHRGs) 2017-18 Round 1 is now CLOSED - Lent Term 2018 deadline tbc

Newton Trust Research Grants The 2017-18  timetable can be found here. Michaelmas Term 2017 round is now CLOSED; the Lent Term round for Emergency, Project and Equipment Grants will open in early January 2018.

Trustees' meeting dates

Thursday 30 November 2017 at 4pm

Thursday 15 March 2018 at 4pm

Monday 2 July 2018 at 3pm

Are you looking for.....